Neurocritical Care

 The Emory Neuro-Critical Care fellowship is directed by Owen Samuels, MD and Prem Kandiah, MD.

Applications are currently being accepted for positions starting July 1, 2020.  This is a two-year position through Emory University Hospital and Emory Healthcare. 

Goals and objectives for training include:

  • Performing a comprehensive range of critical care neurologic procedures and in-patient critical care
  • Clinical education, training and development of neurology and neurological surgery residents and medical students through on-site clinical rotation activities and campus-related conferences
  • Development of unique and collaborative clinical and basic science research specific to critical care services delivery techniques and technology

The first half of the 24-month fellowship includes several months in the neurocritical care units of Emory University Hospital and Grady Memorial Hospital.  Additionally, fellows will spend several months rotating in the surgical critical care units, cardiac critical care unit, and other subspecialty critical care units.  Fellows will spend a month doing infectious disease and nephrology consults to improve their skills and knowledge in these two subspecialties which are so prevalent in the critical care unit. One to two months will be spent in anesthesiology to improve airway management skills.

During the second half of the 24-month fellowship, clinical responsibilities expand to participate in neurocritical care consultation service with increasing responsibility in patient care triage.  During the second year fellows are expected to help run the neurocritical service with the attending to help prepare them for independent practice following fellowship. They will work daily with the advanced practice provider team to ensure quality care for our patients.  Fellows will also participate in quality improvement and morbidity and mortality reviews as well.

Patient care responsibilities include daily critical care management of neurology and neurosurgery patients with a broad spectrum of diseases including ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke, brain tumors, cerebral aneurysms and neuromuscular failure.  Also, general critical care management including respiratory failure, airway management, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, fluid and electrolyte acid base management.

Neurocritical care didactic lectures are held weekly and are required for fellows to attend.  Additionally, weekly critical care conferences with other subspecialty critical care fellows are held covering a broad spectrum of basic and subspecialty critical care discipline.  Fellows will also participate in direct supervision of neurology and neurosurgery house staff and midlevel intensive care practitioners. 

Procedural requirements for the fellows will include:

  • Arterial line placement
  • Ventriculostomy tubing puncture
  • Ventriculostomy/ICP monitoring bolt
  • Central venous line placement
  • Lumbar puncture/lumbar drain


Prerequisite training/selection criteria for successful candidates are as follows:

  • Board eligible and board certified neurologists/neurosurgeons, anesthesiologists, emergency department physicians and medical intensivists
  • Completion of accredited training program
  • Related research and publication history

Please note this advanced fellowship is open to trainees from multiple pathways.  The curriculum is the same for all trainees regardless of their diverse training backgrounds.


  • 2018 – Jackie Kraft
  • 2018 – McOneil Plancher
  • 2017 – Deepak Baksharan
  • 2017 – David Campbell
  • 2017 – Michael Mendoza
  • 2016 – Cederic Pimentel
  • 2016 – Scott Saucedo
  • 2016 – Ofer Sadan
  • 2015 – Gilbert Mbeo
  • 2015 – Wamda Ahmed
  • 2014 – Dustin Rochestie
  • 2014 – Lilith Judd
  • 2013 – Arun Sharma
  • 2013 – Prem Kandiah
  • 2013 – Casey Hall
  • 2013 – Vijay Johnson
  • 2012 – Adam Edwards
  • 2012 – Subashini Ramesh
  • 2012 – Rehan Sajjad
  • 2011 –Arash Afshinnik
  • 2010 –Susan Samuel
  • 2008 – Sam Tsappidi
  • 2005 – As’ad Ehtisham   

For more information, please contact:

Amy Reynolds (Primary Contact)
Division Administrator

Kim Macon
Program Coordinator