Tindall Lecture Series

TindallOur first Chairman of the Neurosurgery department at Emory, Dr. George T. Tindall, was a pioneer in the field of neurosurgery. Dr. Tindall graduated from the University of Mississippi in 1948.  He received his M.D. in 1952 from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, graduating Alpha Omega Alpha. After entering the surgical training program at Duke University, he completed his training in 1961.  Dr. Tindall has played a leading role in organized neurosurgery. He has published over 200 papers in peer-reviewed journals on a variety of neurosurgical subjects, including his major research interests of vascular disease, head injury and pituitary tumors, and has contributed numerous chapters to neurosurgical textbooks and co-authored several others. In 1973, he was appointed Chief of the Division of Neurosurgery and Professor of Surgery at Emory University School of Medicine. During the next 23 years, he sought to enhance the clinical, research and publications activities of Emory's Neurosurgery program.  In 1989, through his leadership, the program achieved departmental status. Upon his retirement in 1997, Dr. Tindall became Professor Emeritus. Through his forward-thinking, Dr. Tindall provided an excellent foundation upon which our department now continues to build; a foundation that set standards of excellence to which we all remain committed.

2016 Tindall Distinguished Professor

Batjer - Tindall LectureH. Hunt Batjer, MD
Lois C.A. & Darwin E. Smith Distinguished Chair in Neurological Surgery
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Dr. Hunt Batjer is the Lois C.A. and Darwin E. Smith Distinguished Chair in Neurological Surgery and Chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Batjer is recognized internationally as a leading cerebrovascular surgeon. Dr. Batjer has had numerous roles in organized medicine. He is a past-President of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons, the Society of University Neurosurgeons, the Neurosurgical Society of America and the Society of Neurological Surgeons, as well as the immediate past-President of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons. He is past-Chairman of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons/Congress of Neurological Surgeons Section on Cerebrovascular Disease. He is a past-Director and past-Chair of the American Board of Neurological Surgery and was Chairman of the Board of the Interurban Neurosurgical Society from 2001 to 2012. He is past-Chair of the ACGME Neurosurgical Residency Review Committee, and Co-Chair of the NFL Committee on Head, Neck, and Spine Injuries. In 2011, he was named Honored Guest of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons. In 2016, he was the Medalist for the Neurosurgical Society of America, and was awarded the Founder’s Laurel by the Congress of Neurological Surgeons.Dr. Batjer recently returned to the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, which is the institution where he obtained his medical education and neurosurgical training. He served on the faculty at UT Southwestern until 1995, when he took the position as the Michael J. Marchese Professor and Founding Chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery at the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago, serving until September 2012.His academic pursuits and research in ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke have resulted in over 430 publications and 12 books and chapters. He has presented 45 Endowed Lectureships and served as Visiting Professor in 58 medical institutions worldwide. 

Previous Distinguished Professors

Ralph G. Dacey, MD  Washington University
Andres Lozano, MD  University of Toronto
Anil Nanda, MD Louisiana State University HSC Shreveport
Robert Solomon, MD Columbia  University
Mark N. Hadley, MD University of Alabama
Douglas Kondziolka, MD, MSc University of Pittsburgh
Michael L.J. Apuzzo, MD, PhD (hon) University of Southern California
Arthur L. Day, MD Harvard University Medical School
Albert L. Rhoton, MD University of Florida
Robert F. Spetzler, MD Barrow Neurological Institute
Mitchel S. Berger, MD University of California at San Francisco
Warren R. Selman, MD Case Western Reserve University
Roberto C. Heros, MD University of Miami
Volker K.H. Sonntag, MD Barrow Neurological Institute
M. Gazi Yasargil, MD University of Arkansas
Issam A. Awad, MD Yale University
Robert G. Ojemann, MD Harvard University Medical School
Jules Hardy, MD University of Montreal
Edward R. Laws, Jr., MD University of Virginia