Neurosurgeons Honored for 2018 Doctor's Day

    Dr. Ioachimescu Dr. Kandiah Dr. Samuels

    Adriana Ioachimescu, MD, PhD, Prem Kandiah, MD, and Owen Samuels, MD, were honored by the Emory School of Medicine Recognitions Committee for Doctor's Day 2018.  Over 100 Emory faculty members from the School of Medicine were nominated by their peers and colleagues for their dedication to improving the health and well-being of our patients and community through care they provide, research they conduct and efforts to teach and inspire learners.

    In recognition of Doctors' Day, the Recognitions Committee sent out a call for nominations for doctors across the School of Medicine who go above and beyond.  The committee reviewed each nomination and selected those who exemplify the outstanding faculty of the Emory School of Medicine. 

    Each of the department's honorees had nominations highlighting their commitments to inspiration, treatment and serving as a role model to the next generation of neurosurgeons. Nomination quotes include:

    Dr. Ioachimescu

    • "Excellent clinician"
    • "Outstanding educator and researcher"
    • "Co-Director of a world-class Pituitary Center"

    Dr. Kandiah

    • "Available 24/7 to help with patient care - even if he's out of the country"
    • "One of the smartest people I know"

    Dr. Samuels

    • "Excellent leadership and mentorship"
    •  "Superb patient care"